Event

06/13/2022 11:00 pm - 07/01/2022

2022 Introduction to Modeling Instruction in Chemistry I

Event Picture

2022 Introduction to Modeling Instruction in Chemistry I with Dr. Mina Bhagdev and Carlos Montero


2022 Introduction to Modeling Instruction in Chemistry I

Course Description:

Chemistry teachers will participate in 45 hours of online training in Modeling Instruction in Chemistry. The course will focus on an evidence-based constructivist approach to chemical education where participants will learn how to leverage Modeling Instruction in the classroom to improve student understanding of chemical concepts. Topics addressed in this course will include: the particle nature of matter, energy, the mole concept, chemical change, bonding, and stoichiometry. Participants will engage with lab experiences, whiteboards, and Socratic dialogues using a Zoom virtual classroom. 

Throughout the course, teachers will be asked to reflect on their practice and how they might apply the techniques they have learned in the course to their own classes. All materials (including videos of labs and demos) used in the course will be provided to the participants to use in their (virtual or traditional) classrooms.

Dates: June 13 - July 1, 2022
Meeting times:
Mon-Wed  - 8am - noon PDT; 9am-1pm MDT; 10am-2pm CDT; 11am - 3pm EDT
Thurs - 8am - 11am PDT; 9am- noon MDT; 10am-1pm CDT; 11am - 2pm EDT

Leaders: Dr. Mina Bhagdev (AZ) and Carlos Montero (FL)
Costs: $775 which includes a 1-year AMTA membership (value $75)
Graduate level credits: $79 per credit through the University of Pacific 
Location: Zoom
Meet the leaders:
Mina Bhagdev has been teaching science since 1992. She has been a fan of modeling chemistry for the past 12 years and enjoys helping students discover science concepts through investigative dialogue. Mina has led modeling workshops with Larry Dukerich and Jeff Hengesbach. Her passion for educational equity guides her educational practice.





Carlos Montero took his first modeling workshop in 2006 in physics and after encountering Modeling his teaching career and the lives of his students were forever changed.  He has been teaching modeling chemistry since 2006 and became a workshop leader under the tutelage of Larry Dukerich in 2013.  Since then, he has hosted and led multiple workshops in the South Florida area.  Carlos served in the AMTA board for 3 years and continues teaching chemistry and physics in South Florida

The Event page contains the description, date and time of the event, which was created either by the Administrator or Basic User.

The Administrators can edit and delete the Event as well as download it to the PC.
The Administrators cancreate and configure events using Admin - Events page.

Close
Resize