Event

09/14/2017 04:00 pm

Webinar series: Crafting Multipurpose Learning Objectives for MI

Event Picture

Mark Schober will lead the webinar on Crafting Multipurpose Learning Objectives for Modeling Instruction


 September 14, 2017 at 7 pm EDT ; 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain and 4 pm Pacific (and AZ).

 

Mark Schober will lead the webinar on Crafting Multipurpose Learning Objectives for Modeling Instruction

Well-written learning objectives make expectations clear to students, bring focus to instructional time, and guide the design of assessments. For example, learning objectives serve as the starting point for many conferences with students, and they form the heart of my standards-based grading system. NGSS, state standards, and the objectives in the Modeling Instruction teacher’s notes are great guides, but are much more useful once you have translated them into statements that you can use in your instruction. I’ll begin by sharing how learning objectives have helped me to improve and focus my instruction, then I’ll provide several examples of multipurpose learning objectives and the ingredients of useful learning objectives, and finally we’ll look at middle school and physics examples for balancing content and skill objectives.
 
Mark Schober is a former president of AMTA and STEMteachersNYC, an AAPT Fellow, and has led many Modeling Instruction workshops. He currently teaches physics, engineering, and astronomy at Trinity School in New York City.
 



In order to provide as many people as possible the opportunity to attend our webinars, we allow more people to register for the webinars than our current GoToMeeting subscription can hold. We've made this decision based on our observation that about 20-30% people end up not attending after registering.  We understand that things come up, so if you find yourself in that situation please let Wendy (wendy@modelinginstruction.org ). 
To prevent any hurt feeling or ruffled feather please note that due to the nature of our webinar platform GoToMeeting signing in to the session is on a first come first serve basis. We don't want to bump anyone off, but we do want to fill our webinars.  Therefore, we open our sessions about 15 minutes prior to the start of the actual presentation.

 

The Event page contains the description, date and time of the event, which was created either by the Administrator or Basic User.

The Administrators can edit and delete the Event as well as download it to the PC.
The Administrators cancreate and configure events using Admin - Events page.

Close
Resize