Event

03/02/2017 05:00 pm

Webinar series:Engineering in the Modeling Class

Event Picture

The NGSS calls for the use of the engineering design process in science classrooms K12. Let’s discuss what this means for the modeling classroom.


Engineering in the Modeling Class

 


March 2nd at 7 pm EDT; 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain and 4 pm Pacific.

 

The NGSS calls for the use of the engineering design process in science classrooms K12.  Let’s discuss what this means for the modeling classroom.   Bring your ideas about how and when to integrate the engineering design process and engineering projects into your classroom.  

 

This session will be hosted by Kathy Malone and Anita Schuchardt. Kathy has been a modeler since 1995. She was instrumental in developing the Physics First curriculum located on the AMTA website that has an energy model theme. Recently she became an Assistant Professor in Science Education at The Ohio State University. She is currently working on re-envisioning the Modeling Instruction in Biology curriculum and conducting an evaluation study of the new curriculum. Anita took her first Modeling Instruction workshop, in physics, in 2005.  She initiated the application of Modeling Instruction to Biology with the development of the Biology Last curriculum (located on the AMTA website) while a high school teacher. She is currently consulting on the redevelopment of the Modeling Instruction in Biology curriculum at The Ohio State University. Recently she became an Assistant Professor in Biology Teaching and Learning at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities. Her most recent work investigates how mathematical and computational thinking can be used as part of model-based instruction to elevate conceptual understanding.

In order to provide as many people as possible the opportunity to attend our webinars, we allow more people to register for the webinars than our current GoToMeeting subscription can hold. We've made this decision based on our observation that about 20-30% people end up not attending after registering.  We understand that things come up, so if you find yourself in that situation please let Wendy (wendy@modelinginstruction.org ). To prevent any hurt feeling or ruffled feather please note that due to the nature of our webinar platform GoToMeeting signing in to the session is on a first come first serve basis. We don't want to bump anyone off, but we do want to fill our webinars.  Therefore, we open our sessions about 15 minutes prior to the start of the actual presentation.

 
 

The Event page contains the description, date and time of the event, which was created either by the Administrator or Basic User.

The Administrators can edit and delete the Event as well as download it to the PC.
The Administrators cancreate and configure events using Admin - Events page.

Close
Resize