Event

05/09/2017 04:00 pm

NEW DATE: The Role of Computational thinking in the Modeling Classroom

Event Picture

Computational thinking is still not a well-defined entity. Let’s discuss the thought processes in this webinar.


The Role of Computational thinking in the Modeling Classroom

 

May 16th  at 7 pm EDT; 6 pm Central, 5 pm Mountain and 4 pm Pacific (and AZ).

 

Computational thinking is still not a well-defined entity. Let’s discuss the thought processes that go into programming and using and making sense of computer programs. Where are the intersections with modeling? What role does mathematical thinking play? Are there ways to elevate computational thinking without having students engage in programming? Bring your ideas and experiences and let’s create a plan for exploration.

 

This session will be hosted by Anita Schuchardt. Anita took her first Modeling Instruction workshop, in physics, in 2005.  She initiated the application of Modeling Instruction to Biology with the development of the Biology Last curriculum (located on the AMTA website) while a high school teacher. She is currently consulting on the redevelopment of the Modeling Instruction in Biology curriculum at The Ohio State University. Recently she became an Assistant Professor in Biology Teaching and Learning at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities. Her most recent work investigates how mathematical and computational thinking can be used as part of model-based instruction to elevate conceptual understanding.  

In order to provide as many people as possible the opportunity to attend our webinars, we allow more people to register for the webinars than our current GoToMeeting subscription can hold. We've made this decision based on our observation that about 20-30% people end up not attending after registering.  We understand that things come up, so if you find yourself in that situation please let Wendy (wendy@modelinginstruction.org ). To prevent any hurt feeling or ruffled feather please note that due to the nature of our webinar platform GoToMeeting signing in to the session is on a first come first serve basis. We don't want to bump anyone off, but we do want to fill our webinars.  Therefore, we open our sessions about 15 minutes prior to the start of the actual presentation.

 
 

The Event page contains the description, date and time of the event, which was created either by the Administrator or Basic User.

The Administrators can edit and delete the Event as well as download it to the PC.
The Administrators cancreate and configure events using Admin - Events page.

Close
Resize