James Bryant Conant Award in High School Chemistry Teaching

2017 recipient Laura Elizabeth Slocum (second to left) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Norbert J. Pienta (second to right), Christopher F. Bauer (right), and Allison A. Campbell, ACS President (left).

The purpose of the American Chemical Society  award is “to recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding teachers of high school chemistry in the United States, its possessions or territories, at the national level” https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/funding-and-awards/awards/national/bytopic/james-bryant-conant-award-in-high-school-chemistry-teaching.html

Laura Slocum is AMTA’s president-elect, she teaches chemistry, using Modeling Instruction, at Heathwood Hall Episcopal School in Columbia, South Carolina. Laura also leads chemistry Modeling Workshops™

Congratulations to Laura!

In 2012, Roxie Allen won the award, this summer she interned in the St Thomas High School chemistry workshop in Houston, TX.