It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:03 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 4:56 pm 

I have a 2 acre pond with plenty of bass and crappie . I would much rather stock it with channel cat that are about 8-10" long. Can the catfish and bass coexist and both do good or should I just have one or the other. the pond is about 25 to 30 ft. deep and has lots of good cover. [/b]

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 10:22 am 

I imagine you should be okay. My family went fishing a few times at a lake about that size (2 acres), and it was stocked with bass, catfish, and other fish. I'm no expert at fish, but this is my best guess.

banot

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:55 pm 

Sid-
I got a quote years ago for stocking my pond. The process was to eliminate all the existing fish and restock it with a relatively even ratio of catfish, black bass and brim. Each have a role to play in the health of your pond and each co-exist just fine. I think the key was to stock them at specific sizes to avoid immediate predation. If you have 3-5 lb bass in the pond now and you dump a bunch of fingerlings in, you will probably have 5-6 pound bass and not many fingerlings. There are several people in the area who do this type of work.

Post subject: catfish/bass
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2003 7:43 am 

i've raised catfish/bass in ponds much smaller than your 2 acres. they work very well together. the trick is to use the bigger fingerlings as you said you were. like tony said if their smaller the bass'll be realllllly happy.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 1:00 pm