It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:33 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:40 am 

I have beengardening for 10 years and this yr. was the worst yr for weeds/grass in my garden. the garden is about 10'by 30' and has a trim around the perimeter. I want to know once late fall comes if I can cover the surface area with something like black plastic for a couple of months to kill any grass/weeds from coming back next yr. I regularly till and turn the soil as well as add compost/leaves thru the winter. pls offer advice to rid my garden of unwanted growth before spring next yr. thx

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:09 am 

Do you mulch during the growth season? I use leaves, etc. to mulch my vegetable garden and this does a great job at detering the weeds. You can till it in when the growing season is over. If you don't plant in the winter you can mulch the enitre garden or grow a cover crop. I've never done the cover crop before because I can grow year-round, but I've heard many success stories.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:31 am 

[quote="lil"]Do you mulch during the growth season? I use leaves, etc. to mulch my vegetable garden and this does a great job at detering the weeds. You can till it in when the growing season is over. If you don't plant in the winter you can mulch the enitre garden or grow a cover crop. I've never done the cover crop before because I can grow year-round, but I've heard many success stories.[/quote] I use mulch, goat/sheep manure(dirt) leaves,etc for prepping the garden and turn and till it regularly. I still had the worst year for weeds and grass ever this year. am thinking of pulling the garden out a little early this yr to get a start on killing the unwanted growth

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 11:09 am