It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Sick Red Oaks
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:08 pm 

I have been using organic products for 18 years. My Red Oaks were beautiful for the last 6 years. This fall the leaves didn't drop until after the ice storm froze them on the trees. They each lost a branch due to the weight of the ice. In spring they began to bud out and we had another cold snap. They really haven't done much since. I began giving them the sick tree treatment but have just about given up on them. All of the other Red Oaks in my neighborhood look fine. Have any of you seen similar issues?

Post subject: Re: Sick Red Oaks
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:36 pm 

Could your yard have been accidentally treated by one of these yard care companies? It sounds like your tree got hit by weedkiller.

I can see the flare of your tree - there may be more that can be exposed that might help a little. How often is it watered (do you have a sprinkler system?)

I lost a smallish tree and some ordinarily hardy shrubs over the winter, it was as hard a winter as I have ever seen here in North Texas. Is this tree on the north side of the house? That is what made a difference for most of the plants I lost.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:36 pm 

I agree that it looks like herbicide damage. Cold wouldn't do that to red oaks. The detox program might help.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:22 pm 

Thank you for the reply guys. I guess it could have been treated by someone but I don't know. My yard is covered in Dandelions so if it was then it doesn't kill them.

I do have a sprinkler system with drip emitters on the trees that run weekly when needed.

These trees are on the south side of my yard.

I'm really dumbfounded.

I will look up the detox program.

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 7:33 pm