It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Pulling Up Tomato Plants
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:11 pm 

This is my first year gardening, and I just can't find answers to the following questions anywhere online. Should I pull up my tomato plants now and set out new transplants as soon as possible? Mine current plants are still producing, though slowing down some with the heat, and seem pretty healthy, except for some lower leaf droppage and a little blossom end rot that's been clearing up. My friend says her tomatoes aren't ripening on the vine?? So far, my plants seem to be doing fine and have just set a bunch of new tomatoes with the lower temps we've had in the past few days. Even with the lower leaf droppage, they have lots of new growth on top. I hate to pull them up if they're going to continue to produce good tomatoes, but I already started my seedlings for fall last week too. My reading tells me that my transplants must be set out at the latest by July 25 for fall. Is this correct?? And will my babies be ready?? Thanks so much for any help you can offer!!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:25 pm 

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

There is no good reason to pull out perfectly good producing plants to replant for fall. If you have an indeterminate variety (producing all season, not like some that produce one crop all at once and then are finished) then I would leave them alone. They may look a bit ratty during the hottest part of the year but if you keep them watered (deeply every so often, not every day) and watch for the usual predators (tobacco hornworms can strip them of leaves very quickly) then in the fall they will again put out fruit. It is my opinion that larger plants with mature root systems are going to put out more fruit earlier in the fall because they're already in place.