It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:42 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 1:36 pm 
Hi! I've followed Howard's site and his advice on organic gardening for a few years now, but this is the first time I've used this discussion forum. I also use other gardening forums and I think they are a fun way to get some really good gardening information. I am looking forward to seeing your comments to my questions and comments. Also, I am a garden club president and founder, so have heard a lot from our wonderful speakers on a monthly basis and I also learn a lot from our members.
Happy Organic Gardening! :lol:

Post subject: New Also
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 8:42 pm 

Hi Lynne,

I'm new here too. Actually, I've been poking around the site for a few months but never bothered to sign up. I've been listening to Howard for a few months now. I'm a convert from the other major DFW radio gardener (NS - aka Mr. Chemicals).

I've got 5 acres in North Collin County. It used to be a field of sorghum (no doubt chemically grown). Really looking forward to converting it into a wildlife haven. I've planted more than 70 trees (most are barely more than sticks, some are decent sizes, and some are easily stepped on!) With all this land and the incumbent bugs, it would be easy (but eventually useless) to use lots of chemicals. However, I am finding that Garrett Juice (wish I could follow the directions - my witches brew is quite a bit different than HG's), corn gluten meal, and some manual labor works incredibly well.

I look forward to keeping everyone posted on progress over the years. I can't wait to see the results and keep wishing I'd started a few years earlier. Oh well, all good things come with time. Look forward to hearing everyone else's success stories as well.