It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:21 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2003 8:22 pm 

I am so distressed and need your help. :x

My neighbors decided to empty their above ground pool into my back yard today. I confronted them before they emptied the entire 5-6000 gallons. I was angry and let them know that they compromised the organic program I have been practicing for the last 7 years. We have a big pecan tree in the back yard, tomatoes, grass, etc. and the ground was saturated with water.

The guy says he is sorry, then goes on to explain that chlorine breaks down fast and that there will be no harm to our yard, plants, etc. I am afraid that my yard is going to be sick now. Please tell me the real story.

Is my grass and tree going to die from poisoning?
Are my tomatoes ok to eat?
How does one detoxify for chlorine assuming that it is a problem?

Thanks,
Bob

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2003 10:47 am 

:cry: :cry: :cry:

I'm afraid I don't have any good news for you. You might try applying crushed activated carbon from an aquarium supply place. Carbon absorbs chlorine in water, but you're really in the vapor stage at this point. It could be that air and time are all that's left to dissipate the chlorine. It will go away, but not before the damage is done.

Actually the damage is already done. Besides the chlorine you have the flooding that kills off the fungi. Fungi are all aerobic, so they're history if you had standing water for any length of time. The only similar situation I can think of would be if someone spilled a chemical fungicide on your lawn. Maybe a drench of pure alcohol would be worse.

:evil: :evil: :evil: