It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 8:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:18 pm 

I am new to organic gardening. Before I learned of this site, I purchased and applied Texas Tee fertilizer earlier this year (which I now understand from this site is a good brand of fertilizer).

In reading the material here, it appears that dry molasses is recommended sometimes and sometimes something like Texas Tee is recommended.

How do I decide which to use to fertilize my St. Augustine lawn?

Thanks

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:13 am 

I've used Texas Tee on my lawn for years and love it. There is molasses in the Tee mix already.

Organic gardener
Tree-Hugger
Native Texan

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:35 pm 

Thanks for the reply. But is there a reason or occasion where you would use solely the molasses?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 6:11 am 

Molasses provides food for microorganisms and is a source of carbon, sulfur, and potash. It is a good, quick source of energy for the soil life and microbes in a compost pile, and will chase fire ants away. It is a carbon source and feeds beneficial microbes creating greater nature fertility. By itself, on the lawn, it's great but I love the other things that are added to the Tx Tee to really give my lawn a jump start. You can use molasses by itself in other applications such as a veg or flower bed, or as a foliar feed.

Organic gardener
Tree-Hugger
Native Texan

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:15 am