It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:21 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:35 pm 

I joined this forum today. I am new to organic gardening. I have a newly built home with fresh sod and new homes being built next door, across the street, and behind my home. I have big dirt ant piles in my front and back yards. I think they are fire ants. The lawn was mowed, the piles were cut flat, and built up high again within a day or so.

I have already visited the Library. I printed 16 pages from these articles:
Ants & Grits
Ants - Fire
Ants - Leaf Cutting Ants
Ants - Pest Control
Ants in the house
Ants, Carpenter
Ants, Harvester
Ants, Red
Ants, SUGAR

My impression is a lot of the information is repeated within the 16 pages and could have been printed in one or two pages.

I printed the two pages for "The Basic Philosophy of the Organic Program 2009", which was pretty generic.

Furthermore, I am surfing through the posts and seeing a lot of good suggestions that aren't in the 16 pages that I printed.

Frankly, I am exhausted with the searching and ready to buy a poison to be done already. Obviously I won't.

I paid for the membership because I was hoping to find something more coherent than my Google surfing was giving me.

Will whoever is managing the content for the Dirt Doctor please consolidate and streamline the ant info and merge in the tips from the forum?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:22 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Fair comment, but a lot or people are looking for information on a specific ant issue, not just "ants".

Here are two other topics relating to fire ants - hopefully this will help you:

Fire Ant Control that Works http://www.dirtdoctor.com/organic/garde ... n/id/2704/

Fire Ants Explode After Rain http://www.dirtdoctor.com/organic/garde ... n/id/3022/

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:17 pm 

Doug,

Those two pages you just referred to me are identical except for the photos.