It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:31 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Rats in Compost Pile
PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:52 am 

Rats have found a home in my compost pile. The snap traps have not worked. What are good options to getting rid of them?

Post subject: Re: Rats in Compost Pile
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:28 pm 

Frequent turning or poking in the compost piles.
Also keep them moisturized frequently.

The entire Kingdom of God can be totally explained as an Organic Garden (Mark 4:26)
William Cureton

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:06 pm 

How are the snap traps failing you? There are a few tricks to them.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:46 pm 

The bait will get stolen and the trap will be snapped but no rat. Thanks

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:56 am 

Got it. Thanks. I'm not a rat professional but in the past I was a building coordinator that worked with the exterminator when rats finally reared their heads in the offices. I picked up a couple ideas from the professionals.

Use bait that is gooey. I like peanut butter with bacon bits in it. Crisco and raisins is good, too.

Tie the trap down with a chain. Chain it to something solid that a big rat could not pull very far. I use a light chain, open the end link, and connect it to the trigger bar at the back of the trap. When I have multiple traps I chain them to one long chain that is attached to something heavy. I saw one rat that was so big it was not killed by the trap. The only way we caught it was that it was chained down. That rat had three legs, having gnawed one leg off that was caught in another trap. That rat was a big as my forearm.

At home I've seen insects steal trap bait. In particular cockroaches and pill bugs are good at it. They are light enough to not snap the trap. Snapping the trap and not getting caught takes some talent.

Don't get discouraged by a few misses.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:30 pm