It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:46 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:46 am 

I have a number of young dissectums (orangeola and viridis in particular) that I'd like to relocate from pots into my front/side landscaping. There are a couple of spots in which I'd like to use them in the back portion of my beds close to the house. Sun/shade combination, space for the trees to mature, etc. has all been accounted for. I'd like to plant them as close as 2' to the foundation (maybe even 18" in one instance). Since the roots systems are non-aggressive, I don't believe this will be a problem but I thought I'd pose the question here. Any thoughts?

Post subject: I'm not an expert
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 5:52 pm 

I can only tell you from my experience, I planted mine about 6 feet from a bedroom window to showcase it. It now is touching the window screen and over the roof.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:04 am 

Good point. Research the height and width information to know what it may be like in a few years.

Organic gardener
Tree-Hugger
Native Texan

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 4:17 pm 

Donna - You have a dissectum that has spread 6' in one direction and grown what I presume is over 9' in height? Very few get that big here. May I ask what kind you have... Seiryu? Ornatum?

Sandi - Thanks. I've accounted for growing room per my initial post.

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 9:22 pm