It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:26 pm 

I have 3 questions about compost

1)
I would like to start 'brewing' and aerating my own compost tea. The more I research and read the more it sounds like you get better quality tea from quality compost. Makes sense. So... any recommendations of what kind to purchase ? I don't have any homemade compost ready at the moment.

2)
Also, is the bulk compost (i.e. like Living Earth brand) good compost ?
I've gotten some in the past, and it appeared a little suspect. Kind of sterile in a way and almost minimally ready as compost.
Any opinions on bulk compost ?

3)
Are there any 'alive' microbes etc in compost that you purchase ?
I really would like to purchase compost in bulk but wonder about the quality.

thanks in advance....
Kevin

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 9:34 pm 

I'm very new at this but I started making ACT in the spring. Since I didn't have mature compost yet I experimented with bagged products and everything I tried seemed to work fairly well. The combination that seemed to work really well for me is the following ( brewed in 5 gallon bucket with aquarium air pump): approx 2 quarts composted cow manure(black kow brand), approx 2 quarts cotton burr compost (Back to Nature brand), 2 quarts natures blend with alfalfa humate (Back to Nature Brand), and some type of seaweed/fish oil (whatever I can find). I generally add about 1/2 cup liquid molasses but have also used dried molasses. I generally add more molasses on the 2nd day a few hours before using. I have read a LOT of info on this and everyone does it differently. In general, what I understand is that if you add some decent nutrients (compost), food (molasses) and air its kinda hard to go wrong. I have read several times not to use the brew on plants if it smells rancid or sour-but the aeration pretty much eliminates this. ACT is surprisingly easy (and sorta fun) to make and works real