It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:18 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: blackberries
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 5:52 pm 

This is my first time trying to grow my own blackberries. I planted the plants last year but didn't get any fruit. This year, the leaves on the plants are curling and look slightly off color. The plants are planted in a corner of my veg. garden so the soil should be good. Also, my husband said the plants will take over the garden - is that true and what should I do? Any tips or help?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2005 9:03 pm 

Blackberries can be quite invasive, and grow well in the wild, at least in our heavy dark clay soil. I would transplant them this Fall to get them out of the garden. Also, blackberries are generally pretty tough in any type of soil I am familiar with. What is your soil type?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:07 pm 

CRK - Are your plants getting enough water? The aggie horticulture site says that nitrogen is the main thing blackberries need. And someone has probably told you by now that blackberries do not produce fruit the first year.
Try giving them some diluted vinegar. Someone else on this site said they did that, I tried it, and they were right - the roots love it every once in a while.

Post subject: blackberries
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 2:53 pm 

Thanks for the help on my blackberry problems. It looks like I'm going to loose one of the plants. I'm keeping them watered well as they get the same amount of water as do the vegetable plants in the garden. Could they be getting too much water? What are the best kinds to plant and what kind of soil conditions are needed to make them do well?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 8:27 pm 

Maybe they are getting too much water. I have never watered my blackberries.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:55 pm