It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:09 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: soil,soil,and soil
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 10:57 am 

Do some of you use your own soil in your compost pile as potting soil? When I put in my soil in pots it becames hard,almost. Should the soil be soft or hard? I just planted some acorns in each pot. Should I keep the soil soft a little bit, or is it ok if it becames hard? I have been keeping the soil soft by using my fingers.

Also, how do you know that compost pile is "done"? Or, is the compost ever done?
Tree Dude

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:53 am 

Tree dude,
I make my own potting soil from my home made compost. I bought a 40 lbs bag of top soil, $1.10, at Home Depot and mixed it with the compost.
I dump the top soil into the wheel borrow and added probably another 20 lbs of compost. I mixed it up by hand until I could no longer see the top soil. I have been using this combination for three years. I start the garden from seeds and transplant the plants into the potting soil when they get about 2 - 3 inches tall. So far I have had 100% success. I store the unused top soil in covered 5 gallon containers. It also makes great top dressing for plants and trees.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 4:28 pm 

If you know who Malcolm Beck is, this will surprise you. Malcolm is the founder of Garden-Ville. GV is probably the biggest composter south of Austin. Malcolm uses potting soil from Wal-Mart and amends it with greensand, volcanite (a GardenVille product), and compost. He likes the Wal-Mart soil as a base because he can get it anywhere at the same (low) quality. But when he's finished amending it, it is a really good growing medium.