It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:06 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Hi from SE Texas
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 1:00 pm 

Hi. I'm new to the organic way of doing things. This site has taught me a lot.
I'm about halfway between Houston and Galveston near Galveston Bay. I have a small vegetable garden that relieves a lot of my stress, but doesn't produce a lot.
I started with Beneficial Bugs this spring and quit spraying chemicals. I now see lots of bugs I have never seen before and the nusiance bugs are not really a problem. I enjoy having these new and interesting creatures in my yard.
The real kicker was when I used corn meal, molasses, etc. on some sick trees in my yard. They are recovering after being almost dead. I have no doubt that a chemical solution would have finished them off.
I have already located sources of organic materials in my area and intend to expand my use of them. The chemicals can go to the next hazardous waste collection I can find.
It's nice to meet Y'all. :D :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:02 pm 

JimBleck,

Welcome to the Dirt Doctor forums. Good news hearing a success story from a new convert! And, you've already found your organic source(s)! Wow you literally JUMPED out of the blocks! Now slow down, take a deep breath and remember it's not a sprint, but a journey.

I further commend you on being responsible in the disposal of the now unused chemicals.

Keep up the good works.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 1:28 pm 

Mr Clean

Thanks for the advice. I will take the time to enjoy the flowers and vegetables I'm growing and take the time to observe the results of the methods I try. The observation is half the fun.

I'm just really excited about learning lots of new things and I think I found the forum where I can do that...it is here. I really like reading the questions and responses.

Post subject: Hi,I'm new here, too.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 8:31 am