It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:21 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: I give up !: Brown Patch
PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2004 11:10 pm 

I'm in San Antonio also. I have a 2-year old Raleigh Augustine lawn, about 4000 ft. I'm new to organics, but have gotten into the Gardenville way with enthusiasm:

Each Thanksgiving, I've put about 4 yards of GV compost down. Every Spring I spread the recommended GV 9-1-1. Each Fall, 7-2-2. Last week, I put the Greensand on heavy, 'cause the lawn was so yellow last Summer. I also put in Nematodes to help with Fire ants, etc.

I don't know why, but every Spring and Fall, I do battle with vigerous Brown Patch Fungus. This Spring, I've spread 3- 50# bags of corn meal over the last 5-6 weeks. Today I've got 8-10 foot ovals over 40% of the lawn. Also, I see a lot of yellow blades in the green areas.

I've just been told by a general gardner that I need to spray Fung-Away right away to salvage the yard. I did get this bottle, and with heavy heart, I will spray it out tomorrow on the diseased areas--unless I can get some solid fungus management advise befor then ! (Did see the post about not using baking soda-- may neutralize the effects of the CM).

Would appreciate any and all advice.

Post subject: fungus
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 7:31 am 

I certainly don't have answer but would suggest several things.
No lawn problems are worth putting out chemicals. If you have pets they will get that stuff in their bodies.
If you walk into your house the "stuff" Will be on your floors and you and your kids will absorb it when you walk barefooted.
You need someone with knowledge that can help you. You live in GV back door - ask them for advice
Probably need soil test from South Tx -never A & M
That fungus stuff probably will not work and then you will still have that poision in your yard and in your house.
Why don't you call Howard Garrett this am on WBAP 820 AM. You can use www.wbap.com
Robert D Bard