It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 10:29 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Weeds, Weeds, Weeds
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:57 pm 

We have recently acquired a 3 acre lot in the plains of Haslet Texas, just north of Fort Worth. With the land, came weeds, rocks, and wind. I am eager to get my fingers in the dirt and begin planting a 12X20 flower/shrub bed that is nothing but weeds and faces the west sun. I am also planting a vegetable garden that will get east and north exposure.

I am new to gardening and want to choose organic, but I have many questions.

1. How can I kill and keep away the weeds?

2. Can you put weeds in a compost pile? Where might I find good information concerning compost?

3. How do I prepare the soil which is mostly clay, and what might best grow here?

4. What tomatoes are best for this part of Texas?

5. Where might I find good infomation about native plants and watering tips?

Post subject: weeds
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:51 am 

Compost, compost, compost
At this time buy it and use plenty. Making it will come with time.
Green Mamas is not to far from you - North Richland Hills - call ask for advice and they have classes.
Robert D Bard

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 8:02 am 

The compost forum has a lot of great information on composting. Here is a link to an online book that will give you more information than you may want, but it is a great resource.

http://www.sourcecentral.com/library/168-1.html

Yes, you can put weeds in your compost pile.

Howard's new book is a great resource for native and adapted plants for this area.

Hope this helps.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:11 am 

I live in Keller and had almost the same situation.

1. Killing the weeds - vinegar will kill the weeds. Use 20% strength stuff and spray directly where you want to kill. I also have a Weed Popper that pulls them out of the ground. Takes longer, but they don't come back.