It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:48 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 2:24 pm 

javascript:emoticon(':cry:')

I am new to composting. I need some help!!!!! My compost pile is composting, but the fire ants have taken over. What am I to do?
My compost pile has become one huge angry fire ant hill and they swarm me when I turn the pile. These guys are not my friend and I would like to fry them.
I do not use pesticides or any type of chemicals.

Thanks for any help. :wink: :cry: :cry:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:27 pm 

The more experienced folks may be able to give you more information, but from what I understand, if your pile is hot enough, it will kill/drive away the ants.

I've got ants in my pile & they seem to pretty much stay put, i.e., I dont' see them throughout the yard.

The ants are good for your pile, they are contributing to the composting process.

Post subject: Ants in the compost pile
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:02 pm 

Thank you AMG for your reply. It really is nice to talk to gardening folks.

When i get ready to use the compost and the ants are still there and I put the compost in my garden, will the ants make homes in my garden?

Post subject: compost ants
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:53 pm 

Fire up your compost with molasses and if you need to, use the fire ant killer mixture on them. They can spread if you put them in your garden (after they bite most of your body). Other ants in piles are OK and do benefit but huge piles of fire ants are a major pain. :lol:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:55 pm 

I'm with KHWOZ. I would use fire ant solution (compost tea/orange oil/molasses) and kill off a large infestation. Thereafter, keeping your pile moist enough and turned with some frequencey should prove sufficient to make you pile less inviting to a large fire ant population.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 1:34 am