It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:54 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Oversprayed Vinegar!!
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 8:51 pm 

I'm just starting to learn the organic lawncare methods, and a little knowledge is getting dangerous. I have alot of weed (spurge-like) that I have truly hated for the last 2 years! MSMA used to kill the tops, but it always came back. I tried 20% vinegar/orange oil this past weekend. To my surprise, it worked...but too good. The overspray has apparently killed (I guess it's dead ?? ) the surrounding bermuda. Since the weed patches are large, I now have about 2-3 HUGE dead patches of both grass and weed. Should I dig these up or let the new growth do it's job? I don't know if the vinegar killed the weed roots, so I'm leaning in this direction since even MSMA didn't kill them. If so, what should be used for filler? I'm truly confused...any advise would be appreciated!

Post subject: Killed the bermuda?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:44 pm 

Bermuda is so tenacious, and it's not even it's prime season, I'll comfort you in saying it will come back. Bermuda is so danged hard to kill! The rhizomes down in the soil are very resourceful and will bring it back until you dig them out. In any case, a little compost in that area will help it grow back faster. Molasses makes grass grow almost better than anything I've ever seen.

Let me give you a guide to logical thinking about this. Remember the vinegar works as a natural acid burn to kill the foliage. It is not discriminating, just like any acid. If you spot spray carefully you can kill off the weeds without leaving big holes in your yard for long. The vinegar then breaks down and improves the soil, unlike other topical weed killers.