It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 8:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Break in Protocol
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:31 am 

Hi All.

Forwarning that I probably broke protocol and already posted a question in one of the other groups before formally introducing myself (feel free to help me out -- it's about neem oil and Garrett Juice).

My name is Chris Hamel. I live in Keller, TX, which is a suburb north of Fort Worth. I am a novice gardener, at best, and have a small raised plot in my small back yard. All told, it measures 4' x 22', and a 2 1/2' x 6' section in the middle of that is a compost pile, so I don't actually have 88 square feet of gardening space.

I am 34 years old with a wife and four little ones (6, 4, 3, and 1). The kids are all becoming increasingly interested in the garden. The big three have each planted seeds in little pots that we'll later transplant in the garden, and they're excited to see whose will grow the best.

I moved to Texas back in May of 2002 and started the garden almost immediately. I am doing a variation of square foot gardening, but again I'm pretty unrefined at this stuff so I'm likely not doing some things right. I had to go raised plots because my soil is hard HARD clay, and other than Bermudagrass and weeds, I don't think much grows well in it. Besides, I do like the look of the raised beds, and the bermuda needs a physical border to keep it in check. This weekend, I replaced the treated wood borders I initially used with cinder blocks. That's something I wish I could have done right the first time!

This will be my first attempt at organic gardening, and I'm pretty convinced that this is the way to go. Everything makes a lot more sense than what I was doing.

Now you all know my life story.

Regards,
Chris

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:48 am