It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:27 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:33 pm 

How do ya'll water your compost pile? I have a cubic yard of materials that I have been composting for a couple of months now and they have reduced in size by about 50% so I have to think I am doing something right. Normally we turn the pile with a crank type device that screws down to the bottom of the pile and then pulls bottom materials straight up. This weekend tho we actually moved the pile and flipped the entire contents over so the bottom would be at the top this time. Well, when we did that I noticed that the bottom half of the materials aren't breaking down and are still the same general size and shape as when I put them in there. I also noticed that they were greatly water logged and had a powdery looking mildew and ANTS! (ick) growing in it. Is it possible that I am overwatering or not watering enough? I usually only water twice a week and I try to water it thoroughly til I can see it start to seep out of the bottom of the mixture.

Any suggestion? Oh, and should I even worry about the ants? I was pleased to find about five red worms in the mix but wish I had found more. Could I buy some worms and add them to the mix? Or is that a waste of time? Oh yeah, one more ? and then I promise to leave ya'll alone - for a little while anyways. :) Is it possible to add too many eggs to the pile? My mom has been giving me a dozen a week to add to my compost pile and I put them in a blender and break them down but I just now realized that I may be adding too many.

hugs,
Christina

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 9:21 pm 

Christina :shock:
Please don't leave us alone. We may get lonely (LOL).